moonwire

chiang mai (part 2)

Posted in chiang mai, thailand by moonwire on August 20, 2009

Can’t believe I’ve spent almost a week in Chiang Mai as I’m writing this from my boiler room. I did not do much here, other than cycle around town, eat some of the best food I’ve ever had, read, relax and just enjoying the moment. I did go see one temple though. Yeah, it was great… next 🙂

International phone somewhere in the Old Quarters.

Thailand has been wonderful in many ways. Though I don’t feel the ‘connection’ here as I did in Bali, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The language is crazy. I have managed to learn how to say thank you, hello and good luck only. The latter, thanks Peter G., came in use yesterday. When I just sat on the square near the East Gate (where the cats in the hole live), a group of young Thai students came up to me. They were from a polytechnic college in town and were working on their English assignment. They asked if I was willing to participate in one of their exercises. Sure.

So one of them gave me a sheet of paper with questions, which I had to fill out. Very basic stuff. One of them was ‘what your name?’, another one was ‘Have you seen baby panda?’ and my favourite question: ‘Do you like Thai foot?’. I’m not joking. After the ‘rehearsal’ they filmed them asking the questions and me answering them. They were totally confused by my answer to the Thai foot question, but I had some fun with it. Chok dee!

I’m off to Laos tomorrow. I’m flying into Luang Prabang. I did not want to take so many flights but after hearing about how to get to Luang Prabang from Chiang Mai, It was a pretty quick and easy decision. (See previous post). Also, I’ve decided to skip Vang Vieng as it looks like it’s mostly a place where young kids go tubing down the river while intoxicated. There isn’t all that much of a town. What this means is that I’ll probably forego the 11 hour bus on the cliff bus in favour of flying to Vientiane. If I don’t spend too much time in LP and Vientiane, I might head into Southern Laos, but I’m not too sure at this point.

Anyways, one of the best things about Chiang Mai was definitely the food. One of the local dishes, Khao Soi is my favourite. I got to indulge in some great whole grain breads as well here. Hope this will continue in Laos.

Here’s some more random shots:

Tagged with: ,

Comments Off on chiang mai (part 2)

